Skip to main content
Mississippi Bend AEA
Main Content

Director Glass announces members of new Taskforce on Teacher Leadership and Compensation

February 15, 2012

DES MOINES, IA – Iowa Department of Education Director Jason Glass today announced the 18 Iowans who will serve on the Taskforce on Teacher Leadership and Compensation.

The taskforce will help the state move forward strategically in the areas of teacher leadership roles and compensation issues. The group is a component of the recommendations introduced by Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds in January to restore Iowa’s standing as a leader in education and to prepare all students to compete for jobs in a global economy.

“I look forward to working with such a talented, thoughtful group of individuals to design an approach to teacher leadership and compensation that leads the nation,” Glass said. “This taskforce will draw from some of the best minds in Iowa schools, Area Education Agencies, educator stakeholder groups, higher education and the business community.” 

A blueprint for education released by the Branstad-Reynolds administration in October included plans to redesign educator career pathways, to create teacher leadership roles and to revise the compensation structure to support this new educator career structure.

Because changes that involve compensation in education generate large cost implications and many questions, the Branstad-Reynolds administration’s final recommendations for world-class schools called for a taskforce to study the career structure and compensation plan in 2012.

The group’s work will begin before the end of the legislative session because of the importance of moving forward on these issues, Glass said.

“Great teachers and leaders will be the key to transforming Iowa’s good schools into world-class schools,” Glass said. “We must put together a model where every teacher, regardless of experience level, is engaged in working with others and also is engaged in the work of improvement.”

Glass will chair the taskforce, which will meet once a month from March through September. The group will make recommendations for the 2013 legislative session.

Members of the Taskforce on Teacher Leadership and Compensation are:

Teresa Bellinghausen, Teaching and Learning Consultant, Heartland Area Education Agency

Molly Boyle, Third-grade Teacher/2011 Iowa Teacher of the Year, Brookview Elementary School, Waukee Community School District

Mary Jane Cobb, Executive Director, Iowa State Education Association

Tom Downs, Executive Director, Iowa Association of School Boards

Jessica Gogerty, School Improvement Leader, North High School, Des Moines Public Schools

Jodie Graham, Principal, Humboldt Middle School, Humboldt Community School District

Justin Gross, Principal, Nevada High School, Nevada Community School District

Julie Heller, Crisis Interventionist for Behavioral Disorders Program, Central High School, Davenport Community Schools

Kent Henning, President, Grand View University

Angie Jandrey, Kindergarten Teacher, Lincoln Elementary School, Mount Pleasant Community School District

Ann Lebo, English Instructor, Grundy Center High School and Hawkeye Community College

Duane Magee, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources, Waukee Community School District

Kent Mick, History Teacher and Curriculum Coordinator, Corwith-Wesley-LuVerne Community School District

Diane Pratt, Talented and Gifted Specialist, Fort Dodge Community School District

Dan Smith, Executive Director, School Administrators of Iowa

David Stoakes, Superintendent, Cedar Falls Community School District

Denny Wulf, Superintendent, Norwalk Community School District

Don Zuck, Executive Director, Ankeny Economic Development Corp.

« Back

© 2021 Mississippi Bend Area Education Agency