Skip to main content
Mississippi Bend AEA
Main Content

Iowa Teacher of the Year nominations due April 2

March 6, 2012

DES MOINES, IA – Thousands of talented Iowa educators lead and inspire their students, but only one is chosen annually as the state’s top teacher. The deadline to nominate the 2013 Iowa Teacher of the Year is April 2.

The award is an opportunity to recognize an Iowa teacher who motivates, challenges and inspires excellence; who is respected by students and peers; who is a dedicated professional who helps nurture hidden talents and abilities; who is a creative, caring individual; who takes teaching beyond textbooks; and who is an exceptional teacher helping to redefine education.

Nominations will be accepted from anyone, including students, parents, school administrators, colleagues, college faculty members and associations. Nomination forms can be found here. The winner will be announced in August.

The Iowa Teacher of the Year award was established in 1958. The annual program is sponsored by the Iowa Department of Education through an appropriation from the Iowa Legislature.

Winners are chosen by a committee that includes representatives of the Iowa Department of Education, the Iowa State Education Association, the School Administrators of Iowa, the Parent Teachers Association and the past Iowa Teacher of the Year.

The Teacher of the Year serves as an ambassador to education and as a liaison to primary and secondary schools, higher education and organizations across the state.

The 2012 Teacher of the Year is Charity Campbell, a physical education teacher at Norwalk Middle School in the Norwalk school district.

« Back

© 2021 Mississippi Bend Area Education Agency